Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement


About the TPP

The TPP negotiations represent a tremendous opportunity to open markets and level the playing field for American companies and workers in the fast-growing Asia-Pacific region.

The countries negotiating the TPP with the United States are Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. In 2011, two-way trade in goods between these important economies and the United States exceeded $1 trillion.

Once TPP is successfully implemented, trade and investment with these 10 countries will provide important new economic opportunities for all sectors of the U.S. economy. In addition, the TPP will provide a template for the integration of other Asia-Pacific economies into a high-standard, comprehensive agreement that will eliminate barriers and improve competitiveness across the region.

ECAT serves as Secretariat of the U.S. Business Coalition for TPP. Learn more at

Top Facts

Participating Nations: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, U.S. and VietnamGoods Trade*: More than $1 trillion in two-way goods tradeServices Trade*: Over $172 billion in two-way services tradeTotal Population**: 348.72 million persons

Total GDP**: $5.85 trillion

1 Data updated August 2012

2 *Total trade between the United States and all other participating countries combined

3 **Excluding the United States

Learn more at

ECAT serves as the Secretariat of the

U.S. Business Coalition for TPP. To learn more,

please visit

Emergency Committee for

American Trade

Promoting Economic Growth through the Expansion of International Trade and Investment